Russ logo

All information gathered first-hand, since 1995

Consulat, 1799-1804

The Consulat was an authoritarian regime established in France, following a coup d'état, to support Napoléon Bonaparte. Napoléon was the first consul and had full power. The second and third consuls, Cambacérés and Lebrun, deferred to the legislative power of four assemblies.

In 1800, the Bank of France was created, and in 1804, the Civil Code was completed. The Consulat was replaced by the Empire on 18 May, 1804.